New Exhibits Opening Soon

White Sands #18

Most of the month of January has been spent entering a number of juried competitions and portfolio reviews.  Seven in all. The results for the earliest ones are coming in now and so far I am two for two. The first opened yesterday in Portland, OR at Black Box Gallery. I was a little unsure about entering this one, but seeing the juror was photographer Lauren Henkin, changed my mind. I don’t know Lauren personally, but I read her blog and listen to her webcast interviews. I really like her perspective toward the landscape and seeing her personal work in Portland when I visited during the summer, really convinced me to enter. She has a unique way of looking everyday scenes that appeals to me personally. Her choices for this show, to me, have a decidedly romantic slant to them. Soft light, soft focus and a largely cool palette. Together the images make for a really nice show. Others in the show are: Bonnie Borthwick, Carol Aaron, Carol Steen, Cathy Cone, Chad A. White, Dacia Pierson, Dave Bennett, Don Jacobson, Emily Joy Rabinowitz, Suzanne Engelberg, Galina Kurlat, George E. Holroyd III, Jake Childress, Jon Cone, Karl Burke, Kurt Jordan, Lauren Grabelle, and Ruth Dudley-Carr. The direct link to the gallery page is: Landscape: The Eloquent Light.

MaryAnn & Debra. Nehalem Bay State Park, OR

Coming up later this month is PhotoSpiva 2012. Now in it’s 36th year, PhotoSpiva is the longest running annual photography competition in the United States, and is part of the George A. Spiva Center for the Arts program. I’ve been entering this one for the past six years. Past jurors have included Anthony Bannon, Deborah Klochko, Jim Stone, Rod Slemmons, and John Paul Caponigro. I’ve gotten work in 4 of the past 6 years with a 3rd place finish in 2009. This years juror is Andrew L. Moore. Like Lauren Henkin, Andrew is also a photographer. He is known for his large scale photographs of Cuba, Russia, Times Square, and most recently, Detroit. Looking at his website, I noticed he also did a lot of portraiture, so when deciding what to submit for the competition, I started looking at some of my Life on Wheels: The New American Nomads images. I chose 5 to enter, and the one below, MaryAnn and Debra, was picked to be included. The exhibition is March 10 – May 6. I am really pleased to see my portrait work getting some attention. This type of photography is very new to me and it is really rewarding to see others appreciate it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Exhibits Opening Soon

  1. Christine Okon says:

    David, What wonderful landscape images from you and your competitors. Viewing them has put me in a good place. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

