Starting Quickly

Well it has been quite a while since I last posted. Truth be told, there really hasn’t been much going on photographically in the past month and a half. All of the juried shows have wrapped up, and the one remaining, Urban View/Rural Sight•Documenting a Sense of Place, at the Mpls Photo Center in Minneapolis, is in the can. Nothing to do but enjoy the season.

But things have picked up in the new year. I just learned one of my entries into The Good Earth juried exhibit put on by Newspace Center For Photography in Portland., Oregon, was selected for exhibit. Laura Valenti, the Program Director for Newspace was the juror. I am thrilled to be part of this show. Newspace, IMO is one of the premiere public gallery/organizations on the west coast and I really feel honored to be included. Laura chose 31 images from 26 photographers for exhibit. I don’t know how many entries were submitted, but I’ll wager there were tons. Newspace tends to attract a lot of attention for their various calls. Below I’ve listed the others who were included. Some really terrific talent here. Congratulations to all.

Jody Ake
Linda Alterwitz
David Ashman
Angela Bacon-Kidwell
Tami Bone
Lucy Call
Dennis DeHart
Peter Dressel
Richard Gilles
Robert Holmgren
Levi Jackson
Mary Shannon Johnstone
Dave Jordano
Eleanor Owen Kerr
Jeffrey Krolick
Richard Lasner
Jim Leisy
Blue Mitchell
Bruce Morton
Zach Nader
Lauren Orchowski
Jan Sonnenmair
Kendall Stewart
Michele Thompson
Julie Verdini

So what is left for me to do is prepare my print. Mat and frame and ship. Get the contract and support materials filled out and sent. I won’t be attending the opening since I’ll be traveling in southern Arizona during the last part of January and first part of February, but if you happen to be in Portland around February 4, stop in and check it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

