Valley of Fire and Red Rock

Valley of Fire State Park #1 ©David Gardner

Has it really been almost two weeks since I last posted? I guess so. Between jockeying for computer time with Mary, lack of internet access, traveling to new areas, photographing, processing images and getting ready for a couple of calls for submissions, I really haven’t felt like doing the writing and posting the images. The last ten days or so, we spent in Valley of Fire State Park and Red Rock Canyon national Conservation Area, both in the general vicinity of Las Vegas. First was Valley of Fire, north of Vegas. Our time there coincided with the Easter weekend and the end of spring break. Needless to say, being so close to Vegas,  the place was crawling with people. Despite the mass of humanity, the park really was impressive. I will really have to rethink how I have always thought of Nevada. That being as the place that stood between me and Utah, Arizona and New Mexico. Actually, much of Valley of Fire reminded me of southeastern Utah. Loads of the wide open expanses and deep red sandstone so common in Utah.

Valley of Fire State Park #2 ©David Gardner

Valley of Fire State Park #3 ©David Gardner

Valley of Fire State Park #5 ©David Gardner

But for me, it was really difficult to photograph here. I had trouble isolating forms and dealing with the jumble of formations all around me. What was most striking for me in this park, was the rainbow of colors in the sandstone. I’ve never really seen such layering of color. Great to look at, but hard to convey in photographs. And, oh yes, there were arches. The other problem were the people. I almost couldn’t point my camera anywhere during the weekend without a person being in the shot or soon walking into the the shot. I never thought I’d not look forward to weekends, but now weekdays are my playground and weekends are best used for chores.

Valley of Fire #1 ©David Gardner

Valley of Fire #2 ©David Gardner

Valley of Fire #3 ©David Gardner

Valley of Fire State Park #4 ©David Gardner

A better time was had at Red Rock National Conservation Area. Another complete unknown, the area for me was a much better place to photograph in. The area is set-up with a one way road that winds through the most interesting areas. There are a number of interesting trails to hike and we spent our mornings out on them. Evenings we were out at various places along the road to catch the late light. There is really too much to cover in the way of what we did during the past ten days, so suffice it to say we hiked, and we photographed. I’m just going to post a bunch of images and be done with it.

Red Rock National Conservation Area #1 ©David Gardner

Red Rock National Conservation Area #2 ©David Gardner

Red Rock National Conservation Area #6 ©David Gardner

Red Rock National Conservation Area #5 ©David Gardner

Red Rock National Conservation Area #81 ©David Gardner

Red Rock National Conservation Area #11 ©David Gardner

Red Rock National Conservation Area #12 ©David Gardner

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

