Getting Busy – Time Flies

Red Truck at Tenaya Lake. Yosemite National Park, CA 2006. ©David Gardner

Well it’s been a very busy several weeks since my last post. I needed to get prints ready for two different shows, entered a couple more, and decided to attend the “Our World” Portfolio Review put on by San Francisco PhotoAlliance. It was a tough call to attend this one. It is hitting just about the same time I planned on leaving on my next road trip. The review happens the weekend of March 12-14. My plan was to leave on the 15th, so I may have to delay a couple of days in order to get it all together in time. I wasn’t going to attend any reviews at all this year. I had in fact let the deadline pass by. But I got an email from Thom Sempre, the Executive Director of PhotoAlliance, asking me to participate. How could I say no? They are a wonderful organization here in the Bay Area, and work very hard, mostly on a volunteer basis. So it wasn’t free, but they’ve put together a pretty solid list of reviewers. If I get my top choices, I will be seeing people I’ve wanted to touch base with for some time. I have been very busy printing up my latest images and “take aways” for the reviewers. I’ve also put together a CD website that I can hand them if they want to see more work. I’ve always given a CD full of images at these events, but they have just been images burned to the CD. This time with the website CD, I think it will be a nicer looking package as well as being easier for them to look over the work.

Also, I was just informed of my acceptance into another Center for Fine Art Photography juried show. This one, called “Red”, was juried by Amber Terranova, Photo Editor for Photo District News. It will be on view at the gallery in Ft. Collins, CO from April 23 – May 22. Over 500 photographers entered work. Amber chose 50 images by 43 photographers. The image I got in, “Red Truck at Tenaya Lake”, is the same one that was accepted into The Darkroom in New Orleans “Red Show” back in 2007. In that show, I sold 3 copies of the print. Hope this one does as well. The show currently up at the gallery, called “Elements of Water”, is also now on view on their website. You can see it here. My photo, “Frozen Plains, SD” is in this show.

Balloon. San Francisco, CA ©David Gardner 2010

My upcoming road trip is going to probably be an all California affair. Since we’ve had decent rainfall up and down the state, I thought it would be a good time to check out some of the wildflower sites that are so dependent on adequate moisture. Especially in So. CA. I will be heading to Death Valley National Park to begin with to see how the bloom goes there. Then probably over to the Antelope Valley area in early April to see how the poppy preserve shapes up. It will probably be too late for Anza Borrego and Joshua Tree. It is already nearly peak bloom there and is getting hotter by the day. But I do hope to continue over to the eastern Sierra Nevada for the trip north, perhaps coming back via Lassen and Shasta. In all, about two months of traveling. No real itinerary or plan. I do have a couple of themes I will be investigating while traveling, but I’m not yet ready to let on about it yet. Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

