You Just Never Know

Tony & Jane ©David Gardner 2010

The results are in for the PhotoSpiva juried competition I entered a few weeks ago and my photo, Tony & Jane, was accepted into the show. The juror was Deborah Klochko, Director of the Museum of Photographic Arts in San Diego. There were 908 images entered, and 84 selected. Last year’s competition saw 578 images entered by 116 photographers, with 78 images chosen. The show will run from March 6 – April 25, 2010, with the opening March 5. So if you happen to be in Joplin, MO., be sure to check it out. I won’t know if my work earned an award until the show opens, but usually, the awards go to photographers that get multiple images accepted. Last year, I had two images accepted and was awarded 3rd place. So we will have to wait and see.

I was a bit surprised at Deborah’s choice of Tony & Jane. I like the image a lot – it fits well in my Marking Our Place project – but I thought the other 4 images I entered were stronger. I added this one at the last minute because I thought it went well the others and was hoping to make a strong case for multiple selections. But you just never know what people will like or what will get chosen. Even though only one print was selected, I am quite happy. Part of my goal for this year is to get my project seen and understood by more institutions and jurist such as Museum of Photographic Arts and Deborah Klochko. The fact an image was actually chosen means that in this case, I’ve achieved more than my goal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

