New Year Begins

Ancient Handprint. ©David Gardner 2010

I am starting this new year off with an entry into PhotoSpivia. PhotoSpiva is the longest continuously running juried competition in the country. It was started in 1977 as an adjunct to the Spiva Arts Center in Joplin MO, and the list of jurors has ranged from Jim Alinder to Mary Virginia Swanson to Elizabeth Opalenik. I’ve entered the last three years, getting accepted 2 out of the 3. Last year’s entry earned a third place award. I am entering this one because I am allowed at least five pieces – more if I want to pay extra.  Five is probably the minimum number for me to feel I can get the project across. I will be selecting from the Marking project, but I cannot choose either Labyrinth or Balance #2 because these images were part of last year’s entry. In the past couple of years, the jurors have chosen several from each winner – not just a single piece. If selected, this gives me a little more exposure and seems more worth while. Below are the five I will be entering.

Number Hill ©David Gardner 2010

Kisses for Oscar   ©David Gardner 2010

Kisses for Oscar ©David Gardner 2010

Standing Stones of Carnac, France ©David Gardner 2010

Standing Stones of Carnac, France ©David Gardner 2010

Fish Tremble. Conway Summit, CA ©David Gardner2008

Tony & Jane ©David Gardner 2010

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

