Back On The Road

Tax and Spend  ©David Gardner 2009

Tax and Spend ©David Gardner 2009

March 20

I’m back blogging again after 3 months home in San Francisco. The last trip ended up with a dash across the Southwest to Joshua Tree National Park for a second look at Samuelson’s Rocks – a pile of rocks where an old immigrant (Samuelson) tried to homestead for severals years before being booted off the land by the U.S. government. I couldn’t really improve on what I had shot the first go round (see above). Even though I was there early in the morning, the lighting was harsh, with deep shadows and too bright highlights. While the sky was a nice blue, which is what I was hoping for, I couldn’t make it work to my liking.

On the way north to San Francisco, I did pass another pile of boulders along the road in the Yucca Valley. This is a place where climbers, partyers and, judging from the various paraphernalia, drug users hang out to do their things. It took some work the get these markings on the rocks. Some were too high to just be able to stand on another rock to paint. Others were quite artistic, but most were just the typical graffiti one sees. The scale was larger however. I chose to include some chairs in my composition that were in the foreground to give some scale to the overall scene.

Yucca Valley Rocks  ©David Gardner

Yucca Valley Rocks ©David Gardner

So that was the end of this 3 1/2 month trip around the country. Overall, I was pretty pleased with the work that came from the travels. I really expected to see a more varied range of marking sites than I came across, but I did get a number of very unique images that have really enhanced my project.

The time back home has been spent catching up on three months worth of correspondence and mail – not everything gets handled through email. My exhibit at the San Francisco Airport Museums needed to get printed and delivered. It is now up and available for viewing provided you have a ticket – the show is beyond the screener checkpoints and only ticketed passengers are allowed through.

SFO Exhibit Announcement

SFO Exhibit Announcement

March brought news of my acceptance and third place award in the Spiva Art Centers 33rd annual PhotoSpiva Photographic Competition. This is the oldest continuously running competition is the U.S. It was juried by Associate Professor of Photography at University of New Mexico, Jim Stone. Jim selected the above image as well as “Balanced Rocks #1”, below.

Balanced Rocks. Pemigewasset River, NH ©David Gardner 2008

Balanced Rocks. Pemigewasset River, NH ©David Gardner 2008

Also on tap for March, the release of exposure, the journal for the Society for Photographic Education. My project, “Marking our Place” will be a featured portfolio for the Spring 2009 edition. Doreen Schmid wrote up a terrific review of the work and I am really looking forward to seeing it in print. Unfortunately, being on the road for the next two months means I won’t get to see it for awhile. If anyone gets to see it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back On The Road

  1. Great site this davidegardner.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. MewVendem says:

    terrific site this davidegardner.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  3. MewVendem says:

    rated site this davidegardner.wordpress.com excellent to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

